February 24, 2018
Texas State University, San Marcos

The steering committee oversees the various areas of competition. If you can suggest persons as judges please contact one of the members listed above. Steering committee members will report to the Director concerning judges by or before February 13. If you have any questions or comments click on the name to email.

Steering Committee

Jennifer ChristiansonExecutive Director, Boerne HS
Rustin BuckHoustonfest Director, Clements HS
Suzy Holland Sprachfest Director, Warren HS
Beth Smith Winterfest Director/Founding Member, Dallas
Gail CopeDallas, Founding Member
Terry Smith Dallas, Founding Member
Heidi Kirby Cinco Ranch HS
Jennifer MartinMorton Ranch HS, Katy
Laura Braun The Woodlands HS
Mark Johnson Onsite Director: Houstonfest, Heights HS
Keri Jaworski Kealing Middle School
Sara BudarzOnsite Director: Sprachfest, University of Texas at San Antonio
Sandie Dieckman McKinney HS
Nella Spurlin Temple, TX
Ian ConnallyOnsite Director: Winterfest, Paschal HS
Ewa Siwak Onsite Co-Director, Texas State University
Kayla Hill Onsite Co-Director, Texas State University


Feb. 9, 2018
State online registration due by 11:59 p.m. in order to qualify for early-bird price of $10 per student. Online registrations submitted after this point incur the regular registration fee of $12 per student. Also, deadline to apply for the Mary El-Beheri Memorial Scholarship.

Feb. 9, 2018
Mary El-Beheri Memorial Scholarship applications due

Feb. 16, 2018:
State online registration due by 11:59 p.m. (regular deadline). Also,postmark deadline for State payment, regardless of whether you completed your online registration by the early-bird or the regular deadline.

Important Dates

Feb. 24, 2018
Texas State German Contest, Texas State University, San Marcos

Mar. 9, 2018
Gail Cope Scholarship applications due

April 30, 2018
Teacher Grant applications due

February 23, 2019
Texas State German Contest 2019

Contact Us

Texas State German Contest Director
Jennifer Christianson

Sprachfest/TSGC Mailing Address
Texas State German Contests, Inc.
PO Box 2043
Boerne, TX 78006

Onsite Directors
Kayla Hill & Dr. Ewa Siwak
Dept. of Modern Languages
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666